2014 Winner

Ann Leckie has been announced as the 28th winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award, the UK’s most prestigious prize for science fiction literature, for her debut novel Ancillary Justice (Orbit Books).

Foyles.co.uk Amazon

The award was presented at a special ceremony held at the prestigious Royal Society, London, in front of an audience of science fiction writers, publishers, academics and fans.

Ancillary Justice has already won the The Kitschies Golden Tentacle prize for best first novel, the British Science Fiction Association award for best novel (jointly with Ack Ack Macaque by Gareth L. Powell), and been nominated in the best novel category for this year’s Hugo Awards.

Speaking for the Arthur C. Clarke Award, Director Tom Hunter said:

“There’s always something extra special when a new or first time writer wins a prize like the Arthur C. Clarke Award, and Ancillary Justice is very special indeed.

“I have personally been recommended this book more times than any other last year, always by people whose opinions I trusted, and what has been really interesting to me is that the people making those recommendations were people I would usually think of as having all kinds of different kinds of tastes in their science fiction reading. Clearly this explains all of the attention Ancillary Justice has been getting across the field of SF awards, and I couldn’t be more delighted to see Ann join the ranks of Arthur C. Clarke winners.”

The judging panel for the Arthur C. Clarke Award 2013 were:

  • Duncan Lawie, British Science Fiction Association
  • Ian Whates, British Science Fiction Association
  • Sarah Brown, Science Fiction Foundation
  • Lesley Hall, Science Fiction Foundation
  • Georgie Knight, SCI-FI-LONDON film festival

Andrew M. Butler represented the Arthur C. Clarke Award in a non-voting role as the Chair of the Judges.