2014 Shortlist

The 28th Arthur C. Clarke Award shortlist has been announced

The six shortlisted books for the Arthur C. Clarke Award for best science fiction novel of the year 2014 are:

God’s War by Kameron Hurley (Del Rey)

Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie (Orbit)

The Disestablishment of Paradise by Phillip Mann (Gollancz)

Nexus by Ramez Naam (Angry Robot)

The Adjacent by Christopher Priest (Gollancz)

The Machine by James Smythe (Blue Door)

The 6 shortlisted titles were selected from a record-breaking 121 individual eligible submissions, put forward by 42 different publishing houses and imprints.

Award Director Tom Hunter said:

“Choosing a shortlist of 6 books from a submissions list that went well over 100 titles for the first time in the award’s history was always going to be a challenge. There were tough calls to make, but from those decisions our judges have created an innovative and thoughtful shortlist that reflects both the strengths and health of contemporary science fiction.”

Referring to last year’s all-male shortlist and other recent online controversies that have occurred in the world of science fiction awards, he added:

“For the Clarke Award it’s the shortlist announcement that fans the flames (or flames the fans) of our community. With others it’s the choice of ceremony host. However no award seeks to generate controversy for its own sake. Debate is vital, but perhaps more important is a sense of celebration, and I hope this year to see a lot of well-deserved congratulations shared with our shortlisted authors as well as welcoming the critical response to the judge’s choice of books.

“I expect a lot of that attention will again focus on the number of books submitted by female science fiction writers, which was why we chose to emphasise this statistic in an announcement earlier this year. Where approximately 1 in 4 submitted titles were by women this year, 1 in 3 made it through to the discussion list of 30 titles from which the judges made their final selection today: A ratio which carried through into the final 6 shortlisted titles, two of which are by new female authors.”

The judging panel for the Arthur C. Clarke Award 2013 are:

  • Duncan Lawie, British Science Fiction Association
  • Ian Whates, British Science Fiction Association
  • Sarah Brown, Science Fiction Foundation
  • Lesley Hall, Science Fiction Foundation
  • Georgie Knight, SCI-FI-LONDON film festival

Andrew M. Butler represents the Arthur C. Clarke Award in a non-voting role as the Chair of the Judges.

The winner will be announced on Thursday 1st May at an exclusive award ceremony held at the Royal Society, London, and taking place as part of the SCI-FI-LONDON Film Festival.

The winner will be presented with a cheque for £2014.00 and the award itself, a commemorative engraved bookend.