2013 Shortlist

The six shortlisted books for the Arthur C. Clarke Award for best science fiction novel of the year 2013 are:


Nod by Adrian Barnes (Bluemoose)

Dark Eden by Chris Beckett (Corvus)

Angelmaker by Nick Harkaway (William Heinemann)

The Dog Stars by Peter Heller (Headline)

Intrusion by Ken MacLeod (Orbit)

2312 by Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit)

The six shortlisted titles were selected from a record-breaking long list of 82 individual eligible submissions, first published in the UK in 2012, and put forward by 32 different publishing houses and imprints.

Award Director Tom Hunter said:

“This is a fascinating and complex shortlist that demands repeated attention and thoughtful interpretation. Shortlisting six books from a potential list of eighty-two eligible submissions is no easy task by any critical standard. I wholeheartedly commend our judges for all of their hard work, and similarly for presenting a shortlist that I hope people will find as much engaging and optimistic as it is subversive and challenging.”

The judging panel for the Arthur C. Clarke Award 2013 are:

  • Juliet E McKenna, British Science Fiction Association
  • Ruth O’Reilly, British Science Fiction Association
  • Nickianne Moody, Science Fiction Foundation
  • Liz Williams, Science Fiction Foundation
  • Robert Grant, SCI-FI-LONDON film festival

Andrew M. Butler represents the Arthur C. Clarke Award in a non-voting role as the Chair of the Judges.

The winner will be announced on Wednesday 1st May at an exclusive award ceremony hosted by the Royal Society, London, and taking place as part of the SCI-FI-LONDON Film Festival.

The winner will be presented with a cheque for £2013.00 and the award itself, a commemorative engraved bookend.