2012 Submissions

Every year the organisers of the Arthur C. Clarke Award release the full list of novels submitted for consideration by the judging panel.

This year twenty-five publishing imprints submitted a total of sixty individual novels to be considered for this year’s prize, the winner of which will be announced on May 2nd 2012.

Submissions include four past winners (Ian R. MacLeod, China Miéville, Christopher Priest and Neal Stephenson) as well as ten authors who have previously been shortlisted (Stephen Baxter, Greg Bear, Jon Courtenay Grimwood, James Lovegrove, Adam Roberts, Justina Robson, Sheri S. Tepper, Charles Stross, Connie Willis and Chris Wooding).

Award Director Tom Hunter said:

“This is the fourth year that we’ve released the full lists of books put forward to be considered for the Clarke Award, and I think it’s a great opportunity for all science fiction fans, readers and followers of the prize to more fully appreciate the range, scope and complexity of the genre and the depth of discussion that goes into selecting a shortlist of six books from an initial list of sixty.

“We need to remember that this is a list of all of the books put forward for consideration, not a long list. To be eligible for the Arthur C. Clarke Award a book needs to be actively submitted by its publisher for consideration and one of those first considerations for the judging panel is often the definition of science fiction itself.

“This can be one of the most hotly debated conversations that surrounds the Clarke Award, and it’s worth mentioning that while publishers are invited to submit titles to be considered as a work of science fiction it is the task of the judges, not the publishing companies, to decide how a particular book best fits within that definition.

“Judges, publishers, authors and readers are all a part of that debate, what some people have referred to as ‘the Conversation,’ and the Clarke Award is all for taking that conversation as far as possible. This was true 25 years ago when Sir Arthur first founded the award as a means for promoting the genre, and it’s possibly even truer today in our thoroughly networked world.

“While I have to leave the public speculation about our shortlist to others, I’m greatly looking forward to the future of the conversation that comes with it. It looks like being a fascinating year.”


Submissions List

  • Embedded by Dan Abnett (Angry Robot)
  • Dead of Veridon by Tim Akers (Solaris)
  • The Departure by Neal Asher (Tor UK)
  • Novahead by Steve Aylett (Scar Garden)
  • Bronze Summer by Stephen Baxter (Gollancz)
  • Hull Zero Three by Greg Bear (Gollancz)
  • The Kings of Eternity by Eric Brown (Solaris)
  • The Great Lover by Michael Cisco (Chomu Books)
  • Random Walk by Alexandra Claire (Gomer)
  • Leviathan Wakes by James S.A. Corey ((Orbit)
  • Sequence by Adrian Dawson (Last Passage)
  • The Last Werewolf by Glen Duncan (Canongate)
  • The Clockwork Rocket by Greg Egan (Gollancz)
  • Gods of Manhattan by Al Ewing (Abaddon Books)
  • Bringer of Light by Jaine Fenn (Gollancz)
  • Final Days by Gary Gibson (Tor UK)
  • Heaven’s Shadow by David S. Goyer & Michael Cassutt (Tor UK)
  • The Fallen Blade by Jon Courtenay Grimwood (Orbit)
  • The Last Four Things by Paul Hoffman (Michael Joseph)
  • Dead Water by Simon Ings (Corvus)
  • The Ironclad Prophecy by Pat Kelleher (Abaddon Books)
  • 11.22.63 by Stephen King (Hodder and Stoughton)
  • Shift by Tim Kring and Dale Peck (Bantam)
  • Cyber Circus by Kim Lakin-Smith (Newcon Press)
  • Echo City by Tim Lebbon (Orbit)
  • Nemonymous Nights by D.F. Lewis (Chomu Books)
  • The Age of Odin by James Lovegrove (Solaris)
  • Wake Up and Dream by Ian R. MacLeod (PS)
  • The End Specialist by Drew Magary (Harper Voyager)
  • Germline by T.C. McCarthy (Orbit)
  • Savage City by Sophia McDougall (Gollancz)
  • Embassytown by China Miéville (Macmillan)
  • Equations of Life by Simon Morden (Orbit)
  • Mr Fox by Helen Oyeyemi (Picador)
  • Hell Ship by Philip Palmer (Orbit)
  • The Shadow of the Soul by Sarah Pinborough (Gollancz)
  • The Straight Razor Cure by Daniel Polansky (Hodder and Stoughton)
  • The Recollection by Gareth L. Powell (Solaris)
  • The Islanders by Christopher Priest (Gollancz)
  • Here Comes The Nice by Jeremy Reed (Chomu Books)
  • The Demi Monde: Winter by Rod Rees (Jo Fletcher Books)
  • By Light Alone by Adam Roberts (Gollancz)
  • Down to the Bone by Justina Robson (Gollancz)
  • The Testament of Jessie Lamb by Jane Rogers (Sandstone)
  • Regicide by Nicholas Royle (Solaris)
  • Wonder by Robert J. Sawyer (Gollancz)
  • War in Heaven by Gavin Smith (Gollancz)
  • Reamde by Neal Stephenson (Atlantic)
  • Rule 34 by Charles Stross (Orbit)
  • Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor (Hodder and Stoughton)
  • The Waters Rising by Sheri S. Tepper (Gollancz)
  • Osama by Lavia Tidhar (PS)
  • Dust by Joan Frances Turner (Berkley UK)
  • The Noise Revealed by Ian Whates (Solaris)
  • Zone One by Colson Whitehead (Harvill Secker)
  • All Clear by Connie Willis (Gollancz)
  • Blackout by Connie Willis (Gollancz)
  • Son of Heaven by David Wingrove (Corvus)
  • The Godless Boys by Naomi Wood (Picador)
  • The Iron Jackal by Chris Wooding (Gollancz)