Submission Policy

The Arthur C. Clarke Award for Science Fiction is awarded to the author who, in the opinion of the judges, has written the best, eligible full-length science fiction novel in English.

To be eligible for consideration the novel must be:

  • Science Fiction
  • A full length novel
  • Written in English
  • Published for the first time in the United Kingdom between 1st January and 31st December of the year before the prize is awarded. A novel is still eligible if it was previously published elsewhere or is translated and published in English for the first time in the judging year.

Sadly a work will not be eligible if it is:

  • A book of short stories
  • A Novella
  • Self-published

We encourage publishers to submit books from across the range of science fiction genre publishing. These must be unified and substantial works.

It’s up to the books publisher to enter a novel for the prize, and to do so by the deadline date set for that year. In addition, the judges are free to call in novels which they consider eligible for consideration.

For further details please contact Award Director, Tom Hunter.