2018 Submission List

This is a complete list of every eligible title submitted for consideration for this year’s Arthur C. Clarke Award.

This is not a long list, rather it is a complete list of books put forward for consideration by the award’s judging panel, and we release this information every year for critics, reviewers, bloggers and fans to gain a more detailed overview of contemporary science fiction publishing, a deeper understanding of the challenges of being an award judge, and also as a piece of SF fandom fun for those who love to try and guess the shortlist every year.

This year the judges received 108 titles from 46 publishing imprints and independent authors as follows:

Please note: To reorder each column tap it’s heading.

NanoshockK.C. AlexanderAngry Robot
The RiftNina AllanTitan
AnnaNiccolò AmmanitiCanongate Books
Infinity EngineNeal AsherTor
Iron GodsAndrew BannisterBantam Press
H(a)ppyNicola BarkerWilliam Heinemann
The Massacre of MankindStephen BaxterGollancz
Xeelee: VengeanceStephen BaxterGollancz
America CityChris BeckettCorvus
City of MiraclesRobert Jackson BennettJo Fletcher Books
Condition Book OneAlex BirriMatador
Condition Book TwoAlex BirriMatador
Condition Book ThreeAlex BirriMatador
SealedNaomi BoothDead Ink
CladeJames BradleyTitan
Places in the DarknessChris BrookmyreOrbit
BroadcastLiam BrownLegend Press
RotherweirdAndrew CaldecottJo Fletcher Books
Memory and StrawAngus Peter CampbellLuath Press
Citizen ZeroMark CantrellInspired Quill
The Boy on the BridgeM.R. CareyOrbit
Sea of RustC. Robert CargillGollancz
Our Memory Like DustGavin ChaitDoubleday
Dreams Before the Start of TimeAnne Charnock47North
InvasionP.P. CorcoranCastrum Press
The Space Between the StarsAnne CorlettMacmillan
Water & GlassAbi CurtisCloud Lodge Books
WalkawayCory DoctorowHead of Zeus
American WarOmar El AkkadPicador
The Regional Office is Under Attack!Manuel GonzalesDel Rey
Into the Drowning DeepMira GrantOrbit
SpoonbendersDaryl GregoryJo Fletcher Books
How to Stop TimeMatt HaigCanongate Books
Exit WestMohsin HamidHamish Hamilton
GnomonNick HarkawayWilliam Heinemann
AnachronistAndrew HastieInfinity Engines
EuphoriaHeinz HelleSerpent’s Tail
Strange WeatherJoe HillGollancz
The WanderersMeg HowreyScribner
The End We Start FromMegan HunterPicador
The Stars are LegionKameron HurleyAngry Robot
Gilded CageVic JamesPan
The Stone SkyN.K. JemisinOrbit
Spaceman of BohemiaJaroslav KalfarSceptre
The TransitionLuke Kennard4th Estate
Hold Back the StarsKatie KhanDoubleday
You Too Can Have a Body Like MineAlexandra Kleeman4th Estate
The Rebellion’s Last TraitorNik KorponAngry Robot
Shattered MindsLaura LamMacmillan
ExodusAlex LambGollancz
NetherspaceAndrew Lane and Nigel FosterTitan
ProvenanceAnn LeckieOrbit
Raven StratagemYoon Ha LeeSolaris
Broken RiverJ. Robert LennonSerpent’s Tail
Tell Me How This Ends WellDavid Samuel LevinsonCorsair
Generation OnePittacus LoreMichael Joseph
NoumenonMarina LostetterHarperVoyager
All Our Wrong TodaysElan MastaiMichael Joseph
AustralPaul McAuleyGollancz
BlackwingEd McDonaldGollancz
Luna: Wolf MoonIan McDonaldGollancz
Gather the DaughtersJennie MelamedTinder Press
The Unity GameLeonora MerielGranite Cloud
The Last Days of New ParisChina MiévillePicador
IterationLiz MonumentFahrenheit Press
Cold WelcomeElizabeth MoonOrbit
Elysium’s ShadowMatthew MunsonInspired Quill
AutonomousAnnalee NewitzOrbit
A Man of ShadowsJeff NoonAngry Robot
The End of the DayClaire NorthOrbit
Immortal ArchitectsPaige OrwinAngry Robot
Too Like the LightningAda PalmerHead of Zeus
From Darkest SkiesSam PetersGollancz
SungrazerJay PoseyAngry Robot
The Wrong StarsTim PrattAngry Robot
UboSteve Rasnic TemSolaris
NyxiaScott ReintgenMichael Joseph
The Real-Town MurdersAdam RobertsGollancz
New York 2140Kim Stanley RobinsonOrbit
The SwitchJustina RobsonGollancz
The Readymade ThiefAugustus RoseWilliam Heinemann
A Perfect MachineBrett SavoryAngry Robot
The Eternity WarJamie SawyerOrbit
The Collapsing EmpireJohn ScalziTor
Playing with DeathSimon Scarrow and Lee FrancisHeadline
The Growing SeasonHelen SedgwickHarvill Secker
The UploadedFerrett SteinmetzAngry Robot
Some Assembly RequiredMichael StrelowRoundfire Books
The Delirium BriefCharles StrossOrbit
Empire GamesCharles StrossTor
Sweet DreamsTricia SullivanGollancz
The Wages of SinZoë SumraElsewhen Press
Charlie Ellis and the Day Trip to MarsPaul SuttonBuffalo Books
Dogs of WarAdrian TchaikovskyHead of Zeus
Black WaveMichelle TeaAnd Other Stories
The White CityRoma TearneAardvark Press
DefenderG.X. ToddHeadline
Children of the DividePatrick S. TomlinsonAngry Robot
The Weight of the WorldTom TonerGollancz
The Book of AirJoe TreasureClink Street
BorneJeff VanderMeer4th Estate
An Oath of DogsWendy N. WagnerAngry Robot
The Last Dog on EarthAdrian J. WalkerDel Rey
ArtemisAndy WeirDel Rey
Hunger Makes the WolfAlex WellsAngry Robot
The Ion RaiderIan WhatesNewCon Press
KokoroKeith YatsuharoAngry Robot
The Idiot GodsDavid ZindellHarperVoyager

Eligibility For Entry

The prize is open to any full-length novel, written in English by an author of any nationality, provided that the novel is published for the first time by a UK publisher between 1 January and 31 December of the year for which submissions are open.

Although the novel’s first UK publication must fall within these dates, it is still eligible if it was previously published in other territories or has been translated into English for the first time in the judging year.

We encourage publishers to submit books from across the range of science fiction genre publishing. These must be unified and substantial works, with the final decision of what constitutes a unified, substantial and science fictional work remaining with the judging panel for the year of submissions in question and the governing committee of the award.

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is open to submissions from authors publishing their work independently. Here we categorize independently publishing authors as a UK publishing company of one in their own right and they must be either a UK citizen or resident in the UK to be eligible and are subject to the same fees and levies for entry.

The judges for the 2018 prize are nominated by our supporting organisations, the Science Fiction Foundation, the British Science Fiction Association and the SCI-FI-LONDON film festival.

This year’s judges are Dave Hutchinson, Dr Paul March-Russell, Kari Maund, Charles Christian and Gaie Sebold. The Chair of Judges is Dr Andrew M. Butler representing the Arthur C. Clarke Award in a non-voting role.

Image Credit: Janko Ferlic / Who can be found on: twitter, unsplash, Instagram and his actual photo can be found on Pexels.