2017 Submission List


This is a complete list of every eligible title submitted for consideration for this year’s Arthur C. Clarke Award.

This year the judges received 86 titles from 38 publishing imprints and independent authors.

Please note To reorder each column tap it’s heading.

Novel Author Publisher
Savant Nik Abnett Solaris
The Power Naomi Alderman Penguin Viking
Necrotech K.C. Alexander Angry Robot
All the Birds in the Sky Charlie Jane Anders Titan
War Factory Neal Asher Tor
Creation Machine Andrew Bannister Bantam
Starbound Dave Bara Del Rey
The Medusa Chronicles Stephen Baxter & Alastair Reynolds Gollancz
Daughter of Eden Chris Beckett Daughter of Eden
Songshifting Chris Bell wordsSHIFTminds
City of Blades Robert Jackson Bennett Jo Fletcher Books
Sockpuppet Mathew Blakstad Hodder & Stoughton
The Hatching Ezekiel Boone Gollancz
Good Morning, Midnight Lily Brooks-Dalton Wiedenfeld & Nicolson
Morning Star Pierce Brown Hodder & Stoughton
Lament for the Fallen Gavin Chait Doubleday
A Closed and Common Orbit Becky Chambers Hodder & Stoughton
The Rise of Io Wesley Chu Angry Robot
Forsaken Skies D. Nolan Clark Orbit
Ancestral Machines Michael Cobley Orbit
Dark Matter Blake Crouch Macmillan
The Destructives Matthew De Abaitua Angry Robot
Zero K Don DeLillo Picador
The Tourist Robert Dickinson Orbit
The Blood of the Hoopoe Naomi Foyle Jo Fletcher Books
The Many Selves of Katherine North Emma Geen Bloomsbury
Survival Game Gary Gibson Tor
New Pompeii Daniel Godfrey Titan
Front Lines Michael Grant Electric Monkey
Ninefox Gambit Yoon Ha Lee Solaris
The Bastard Wonderland Lee Harrison Wrecking Ball Press
Graft Matt Hill Angry Robot
The Last Gasp Trevor Hoyle Jo Fletcher Books
Europe in Winter Dave Hutchinson Solaris
The Fifth Season N.K. Jemisin Orbit
A Field Guide to Reality Joanna Kavenna Riverrun
The Man Who Spoke Snakish Andrus Kivirähk Grove Press UK
False Hearts Laura Lam Macmillan
Nemesis Alex Lamb Gollancz
The Sign of One Eugene Lambert Electric Monkey
The Wolf Road Beth Lewis Borough
Death’s End Cixin Liu Head of Zeus
The Disciple Stephen Lloyd Jones Headline
Infinite Ground Martin MacInnes Atlantic Books
The Corporation Wars: Dissidence Ken MacLeod Orbit
Into Everywhere Paul McAuley Gollancz
Burning Midnight Will McIntosh Delacorte Press
This Census-Taker China Miéville Picador
When the Floods Came Clare Morrall riverun
Sleeping Giants Sylvain Neuvel Michael Joseph
After Atlas Emma Newman Roc
The Sudden Appearance of Hope Claire North Orbit
The Last One Alexandra Oliva Michael Joseph
South Frank Owen Corvus
The Girl with Two Souls Stephen Palmer Infinity Plus
The Girl with One Friend Stephen Palmer Infinity Plus
The Girl with No Soul Stephen Palmer Infinity Plus
Empire V Victor Pelevin Gollancz
Outriders Jay Posey Angry Robot
Medusa’s Web Tim Powers Corvus
The Long Cosmos Terry Pratchett & Stephen Baxter Doubleday
The Gradual Christopher Priest Gollancz
Revenger Alastair Reynolds Gollancz
Invasion Luke Rhinehart Titan
Waking Hell Al Robertson Gollancz
The Lazarus War Jamie Sawyer Orbit
The Trees Ali Shaw Bloomsbury
The Core of the Sun Johanna Sinisalo Grove Press UK
Dark Made Dawn J.P. Smythe Hodder & Stoughton
The High Ground Melinda Snodgrass Titan
The Nightmare Stacks Charles Stross Orbit
Hunters & Collectors M. Suddain Jonathan Cape
Occupy Me Tricia Sullivan Gollancz
Fair Rebel Steph Swainston Gollancz
Central Station Lavie Tidhar PS Publishing
United States of Japan Peter Tieryas Angry Robot
The Devil’s Evidence Simon Kurt Unsworth Del Rey
Radiance Catherynne M. Valente Corsair
Behind the Throne K.B. Wagers Orbit
Escapology Ren Warom Titan
Every Mountain Made Low Alex White Solaris
The Underground Railroad Colson Whitehead Fleet
The Arrival of Missives Aliya Whiteley Unsung Stories
Underground Airlines Ben Winters Century
Azanian Bridges Nick Wood NewCon Press
The Lost Time Accidents John Wray Canongate

Image © 2012 Justin Surgent, all rights reserved. Via Daily Collegian.