2016 Winner

30th Arthur C. Clarke Award for science fiction literature awarded to epic spider space opera.

Children of Time by Adrian Tchaikovsky (Tor) has been announced as the 30th winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award, The UK’s most prestigious prize for science fiction literature.

Foyles.co.uk Amazon Amazon.com

Award Director Tom Hunter said:

“Children of Time has a universal scale and sense of wonder reminiscent of the novels of Sir Arthur C. Clarke himself, combined with one of the best science fictional extrapolations of a not-so-alien species and their evolving society I’ve ever read.”

Andrew M Butler, Chair of Judges, said:

“Choosing a winner for the Arthur C. Clarke Award doesn’t get any easier after thirty years. The judges were passionate about all six shortlisted titles and it was tough to narrow down to one book. Adrian Tchaikovsky’s Children of Time tells two parallel stories of the last survivors of Earth and the inhabitants of a terraformed planet – it takes the reader’s sympathies and phobias, and plays with them masterfully on an epic and yet human scale.”

The winner was announced on the evening of Wednesday 24th August at a special ceremony held at Foyles bookshop’s flagship store on Charing Cross Road, London, and presented in front of an audience of science fiction writers, publishers and fans.

The evening began with a toast to the memory of Sir Arthur C. Clarke led by Angie Edwards, Sir Arthur’s niece, and the winner, Adrian Tchaikovsky, was presented with a trophy in the form of a commemorative engraved bookend cheque as well as prize cheque for £2016.00.

The judging panel for the Arthur C. Clarke Award 2016 are:

  • David Gullen, British Science Fiction Association
  • Ian Whates, British Science Fiction Association
  • Liz Bourke, Science Fiction Foundation
  • Andrew McKie, Science Fiction Foundation
  • Leila Abu El Hawa, SCI-FI-LONDON film festival

Andrew M. Butler represents the Arthur C. Clarke Award in a non-voting role as the Chair of the Judges.