2014 Winner

Ann Leckie has been announced as the 28th winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award, the UK’s most prestigious prize for science fiction literature, for her debut novel Ancillary Justice (Orbit Books).

The award was presented at a special ceremony held at the prestigious Royal Society, London, in front of an audience of science fiction writers, publishers, academics and fans.

Ancillary Justice has already won the The Kitschies Golden Tentacle prize for best first novel, the British Science Fiction Association award for best novel (jointly with Ack Ack Macaque by Gareth L. Powell), and been nominated in the best novel category for this year’s Hugo Awards.

Speaking for the Arthur C. Clarke Award, Director Tom Hunter said:

“There’s always something extra special when a new or first time writer wins a prize like the Arthur C. Clarke Award, and Ancillary Justice is very special indeed.

“I have personally been recommended this book more times than any other last year, always by people whose opinions I trusted, and what has been really interesting to me is that the people making those recommendations were people I would usually think of as having all kinds of different kinds of tastes in their science fiction reading. Clearly this explains all of the attention Ancillary Justice has been getting across the field of SF awards, and I couldn’t be more delighted to see Ann join the ranks of Arthur C. Clarke winners.”

read more

2015 Shortlist Announced


The six shortlisted books for the Arthur C. Clarke Award for best science fiction novel of the year published in 2014 are:

The Girl With All The Gifts - M.R. Carey (Orbit)
The Book Of Strange New Things - Michel Faber (Canongate)
Europe In Autumn - Dave Hutchinson (Solaris)
Memory Of Water - Emmi Itäranta (HarperVoyager)
The First Fifteen Lives Of Harry August - Claire North (Orbit)
Station Eleven - Emily St John Mandel (Picador)


The 6 shortlisted titles were selected from a list of 107 individual eligible submissions, put forward by 36 different publishing houses and imprints.

Award Director Tom Hunter said:

“This is a quintessentially Clarke Award kind of a shortlist of exactly the sort that we’ve become known for over the years and always love to celebrate. Congratulations to all of our shortlisted authors, their publishing teams and, of course, a big thank you to everyone on our judging panel this year.

“We’ve got six authors who have never been nominated for the Clarke Award before and while the subject matter may often be dark, when we think about what this list says about the strength of science fiction literature itself, I see a future that’s full of confidence, creativity and diversity of imagination.”

The judging panel for the Arthur C. Clarke Award 2015 are:

  • Duncan Lawie, British Science Fiction Association
  • Nicholas Whyte, British Science Fiction Association
  • Sarah Brown, Science Fiction Foundation
  • Lesley Hall, Science Fiction Foundation
  • Leila Abu El Hawa, SCI-FI-LONDON film festival

Andrew M. Butler represents the Arthur C. Clarke Award in a non-voting role as the Chair of the Judges.

The winner will be announced on Wednesday 6th May at an exclusive award ceremony held at Foyles Bookshop, London, and taking place as part of the activities leading up to the SCI-FI-LONDON Film Festival.

The winner will be presented with a cheque for £2015.00 and the award itself, a commemorative engraved bookend.

read more

SFX Magazine

Celebrate science fiction with SFX Magazine, the official media partners of the Arthur C. Clarke Award


Our friends at SFX have come up with this great offer for supporters of the award and fans of science fiction everywhere:

  • Subscribe to SFX today and receive your first 3 issues for £5 – just £1.67 per issue!
  • Then continue to subscribe and continue to save! Your subscription will continue at the special low rate of just £12.49 every 3 months, saving 23% off the cover price
  • This is a risk free, no-obligation trial that you can cancel at any time

Click here to find out more.


read more